

## Superior Court of California County of Orange **News Release**

Public Information Office Contact: Gwen Vieau (657) 622-7097 PIO@occourts.org

May 21, 2014

## 2014-2015 Orange County Grand Jury Selected

Santa Ana - The 19 members and 9 alternates of the 2014-2015 Orange County Grand Jury were selected yesterday afternoon from a drawing held at the Superior Court of Orange County, 700 Civic Center Drive West, Santa Ana. Hon. Charles Margines, Assistant Presiding Judge and chair of the Grand Jury Recruitment/Selection Committee, presided with Alan Carlson, Chief Executive Officer and Jury Commissioner, randomly selecting names of the nominees, as required by statute.

Canvassing efforts for the Grand Jury included mailing over 2,000 recruitment packets to prospective applicants, distributing flyers to more than 600 companies and community organizations, placing a notice on jury summonses, and placing paid advertising in print and online newspapers. Also, current members of the Grand Jury and the judges of the Grand Jury Recruitment/Selection Committee spoke to organizations and appeared on local television to inform the community of the opportunity to serve on the Grand Jury. Over 160 Orange County residents applied to serve.

The 19 members of the new Grand Jury include three Hispanic/Latino members and three Asian members. The ages of the grand jurors selected range from 56 to 83 years old.

Following a four-day training program, the 19 members will take the oath of office and begin their one-year term on July 1, 2014, at a proceeding to be held at 10:00 a.m. in Department C1 of the Central Justice Center. The names of the 2014-2015 Grand Jury members are listed on the following page, in order of their selection.

## 2014- 2015 ORANGE COUNTY GRAND JURY

- 1. Terrance Belanger
- 2. Michael Ernandes
- 3. Richard Newman
- 4. David Derby
- 5. Edgar Oglesby
- 6. Burnie Dunlap
- 7. Robert Breton
- 8. Raymond McCaffery
- 9. Paul Borzcik
- 10. William Lycett
- 11. Narinder Mahal
- 12. Dennis Chen
- 13. Thomas McCabe Jr.
- 14. Johnnie Hitt
- 15. Richard Gayer
- 16. Mary Laub
- 17. Sam Torres
- 18. Maxine Marcus
- 19. Saboohi Currim

## ALTERNATES

- A1. Barbara Hunt
- A2. Michael Pinchot
- A3. Michael Harrison
- A4. John Rodriguez
- A5. Michael Verrengia
- A6. James Louis
- A7. Susan Ross
- A8. Virginia Baetiong
- A9. Sidney Spinak